Skip to main content


Election Candidate Qualifying Information

Notice is hereby given that a General Election will be held in the City of Clarkston on Tuesday, November 7, 2023, to elect three (3) Council Members to the Clarkston City Council. The term of office is four (4) years, and the elected officials will be sworn in at the January 2024 meeting of the City Council.

Persons wishing to qualify for this election may file a Notice of Candidacy with the Municipal Election Superintendent at the Clarkston City Hall Annex, 1055 Rowland Street, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily, beginning on Monday, August 21, 2023, to Friday, August 25, 2023, except during a daily lunchbreak from 12:00pm -1:00pm. The Qualifying fee for Council Member is $360.00.

Click the link below to access the Qualifying Packet

2023 General Election - Candidate Information Packet 

For more information about the 2023 General Election Click HERE.

About the City of Clarkston's Government

There are six Council Members and a Mayor that comprise Clarkston's government. Each office term is four years, and elections are staggered every two years.

Each city election is non-partisan, meaning that candidates do not represent any particular political party. Their individual party affiliations are not relevant to their City of Clarkston Government positions.

Meet your Elected Officials:

Mayor: Beverly H. Burks; Term: 2022-2026

Council Member: Awet Eyasu; Term: 2020-2023

Council Member: James Carroll; Term: 2022-2026

Council Member/Vice-Mayor: Debra Johnson; Term: 2020-2023

Council Member: Laura Hopkins; Term: 2020-2023 

Council Member: Yterenickia Bell; Term: 2022-2026

Council Member: Susan Hood; Term: 2022-2026

City Council Meetings

The Mayor and Council Members attend the monthly Work Sessions and Council meetings. Work Session are held the last Tuesday of each month and the Council Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month, unless stated otherwise. The both Meetings start at 7:00pm, in the City Council Chambers, 3921 Church Street, Clarkston, GA 30021.

Clarkston Municipal General Elections are held on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November in each odd-numbered year (Georgia Election Code 21-2-9 (c), every two years. Polling occurs at the Clarkston First Baptist Church (3895 Church Street, Clarkston, GA 30021).

Requirements of elected members:

The Mayor and Council members are elected to serve a four year term of office and serve Clarkston at large (the entire city). Candidate must be 18 years old,

A Citizen of the United States

A bona fide resident of the City of Clarkston for a continuous period of at least 12 months immediately prior to the date of the election

Must have no debts outstanding against them in favor of the city, county or state.

The candidate must be registered and qualified to vote in the municipal elections for the City of Clarkston and continue this qualification throughout their term of office.

Candidate must continue to reside in the City of Clarkston during their period of service;

Looking for more candidate information? Click here.