About the City Council


The City of Clarkston functions under the council-manager form of government. This system of local government combines the strong political leadership of elected officials in the form of a council, with the strong managerial experience of an appointed local government manager.


The Clarkston city council serves primarily as a legislative body; its members are the community’s decision makers. They serve as the leaders and policy makers elected to represent the community and to concentrate on policy issues that are responsive to citizens’ needs and wishes. Members of the elected council are responsible for approving the budget and determining the tax rates. The council also focuses on the community’s goals, major projects, and such long-term considerations as community growth, land use development, capital improvement plans, capital financing, and strategic planning.


The council hires a professional manager to carry out the administrative responsibilities of the City and supervises the manager’s performance.



Mark W. Perkins

Year Elected : 2021 Special Election



Jamie Carroll

Year Elected : 2017

Contact : jcarroll@cityofclarkston.com


debra johnsonDebra Johnson

Year Elected 2019

Contact : djohnson@cityofclarkston.com


Awet Eyasu

Year Elected : 2015

Contact : aeyasu@cityofclarkston.com


Ahmed Hassan

Year Elected : 2013

Contact : ahassan@cityofclarkston.com